Victoria NeuroNotes

Let’s Get To Know Each Other Better

43 Comments

I’ve taken the Myers-Briggs personality test, but it seemed lacking in some respects.  Then I discovered Keirsey’s temperament website.  I was rather astonished at the accuracy about myself.  A much more balanced testing method, IMO.  Apparently, it is the most widely used personality instrument in the world.

According to Keirsey Temperament Theory, there are four basic temperament groups which describe human behavior. Keirsey’s four temperaments are referred to as Artisans™, Guardians™, Rationals™ and Idealists™. These four temperaments can be further subdivided, often referred to as “Character Types”.

There are four types of Artisans, four types of Guardians, four types of Rationals, and four types of Idealists.  The questions are designed to sort between four dichotomous pairs of preferences, leading to results which reveal a person’s temperament and character type.

My results:  51% Idealist and 49% Rational.  The test breaks it down even more using sub-categories from Myers-Briggs.

So my final result was that I was predominately an Idealist in the subcategory of Counselor (INFJ).

Portrait of a Counselor:   http://www.keirsey.com/4temps/counselor.asp

My second predominate temperament was Rational in the subcategory of Architect (INTP)

Portrait of a Architect:   http://www.keirsey.com/4temps/architect.asp

Try it for fun.  It’s free, and you won’t get bugged with emails from Keirsey, except for the test results.

Share your results and what you think of those results.  Were they fairly accurate for you?

Test:  http://www.keirsey.com/sorter/register.aspx

________________________________________________

Image courtesy of Morguefile.com
Artist

Author: NeuroNotes

Victoria predominately blogs about religion, and the brain's role in religious type experiences.

43 thoughts on “Let’s Get To Know Each Other Better

  1. am heading straight away…….thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. I don’t believe in these sorts of tests. Tammy’s obsessed with the Myers-Briggs, and has been trying for years to convince me to take it. I don’t like the idea of being labeled or categorized, and I sometimes wonder if we are the way we are because these instruments have told us we have to be, and we refuse to try to be anything else because they have told us we can’t.

    But that’s just me…and I’m a toad…so take it with a grain of salt…:op

    Like

  3. I had wondered if things would turn out differently for me since my life took such a big detour in the last couple of years, but once again I came in as the IDEALIST HEALER (INFP). One time I tested INFJ but the rest has been INFP. I could not see anything about a “second predominant temperament,” though.

    Like

    • “I could not see anything about a “second predominant temperament,though.”

      Hey Josh,
      It’s been around a year since I did the test, but in the report, I got a percentage of my dominant personality. After that, it showed other percentages. For me I came out with 51 % Idealist, and 49% Rational. Some have had a little of all personality types, but usually there is one that is predominant. So now I’m curious. You only got a result of Idealist-Healer?

      Like

      • Yes, today I only got one result. I do recall in the past having more of a % breakdown, too. I got no percentage this time.

        Like

        • Hmmm, they haven’t gone cheap on us, have they? LOL

          I’m going to take it again, and see what I get. The thing that I really liked about this test in the first place was that it allowed you to see other facets of your personality by percentages. I’ll be back.

          Like

        • Well Josh, it’s a mystery to me. I only got one result this time, as well. Idealist – Counselor. I’m gathering that I may have taken the test during a promotional period where I got more information. The original report was definitely more detailed then what I got in this last report. But I also noticed that they now call it the Keirsey Temperament Sorter-II — putting emphasis on the II. I suspect there was another free version. The version I took, perhaps? I looked through my email, one of them, and couldn’t find the original report. Too many emails to sort through.

          Thanks for taking the time to do the test and sharing the results.

          Like

      • I did take one a couple of years ago and do remember some percentages. I remember being pretty even on Introversion vs. Extroversion. Maybe I took Sorter-I, too. Oh, well, it was fun to do again anyway.

        Like

        • Well, I’m not surprised they took out one of the best and unique parts about the test. $$$ We are all multifaceted, and I thought it would be fun exploring those various facets that we could definitely relate to about ourselves. Some traits of mine that the Idealist – Counselor were void of (and Myers-Briggs) was highlighted in the Rational – Architect. To me, getting nearly 50/50 in the results was something I found relevant. That 49% was as important as the 51%. I don’t see such tests as teaching me anything about myself or encouraging me to be something I’m not. It’s just cool to see the various facets of myself collected together. Sometimes I can be very out going, and other times, I’m a wall flower. Sometimes I completely trust my intuition, and other times I rely on critical thinking. Both temperaments have served me well.

          Anyway, I thought I’d post your portrait of an Idealist – Healer for others to see.

          http://www.keirsey.com/4temps/healer.asp

          Like

  4. Ooh I’m intrigued. I’ll definitely take this when I get on the laptop later. Any guesses at how I’ll turn out? So many layers, so your guess is as good as mine. 🙂

    Like

    • OK — hmmm, *thinks about how you’ll turn out* I think you probably are a good mix of several qualities that come to mind in each of the 4/16 categories. But if I were to only be able to pick one, I think you may predominately fall in the same category as Rihaanh. An Idealist – Champion. Also, I truly see you as a champion in more ways than one.

      http://www.keirsey.com/4temps/champion.asp

      Like

      • Hmmm. Believe it or not, I tested out as a Guardian/Protector. I can see how this may be true, I’m hesitant to change; I trust experience; I’m pragmatic; I like to get things done; I value integrity; I’m compassionate and cautious of others’ emotions, but I can be quite reserved in my own emoting.

        http://www.keirsey.com/4temps/protector.asp

        Like

        • I can believe it. Thanks so much for taking the test and reporting back. Although I’ve only known you for a short season, it feels like I’ve known you for years. Based on what I’ve come to know about you, I think that the traits you pointed out in Guardian/Protector describe you well. If you had been able to take the same test I took a while back, it would have been interesting to see what your 2nd dominant temperament would have been, if there was one. I like the thought of you being a guardian/protector. That makes being your friend even more comforting. ❤

          Sorry it took so long to get back with you. I get many emails each day, and I can only respond to you through email notification or in the little window, which I don't like because you can lose your comment easily if the window closes by accident. There is a glitch in this theme, as I can't just reply to you from the comment section (no reply option). I have to find the email notification. That can be a daunting task sometimes, LOL.

          I'm still doing the happy dance about you getting Freshly Pressed. You must feel vulnerable right now, but you know what? Your beautiful, authentic self shinned (shone?) brightly in your post. I can't wait to watch the video you shared with me on your blog. Heading over there now. Much love. ☼

          Like

  5. Hi Victoria! I took the test, it says I am an Idealistic Healer. After reading the potrait of the healer (http://www.keirsey.com/4temps/healer.asp) I’d have to say it sounds like me for the most part! I especially had to laugh when it mentioned “Healers live a fantasy-filled childhood-they are the prince or princess” since I very much did that!

    Like

  6. Here’s to the INFPs of the world. Hellllloooo, my brothers and sisters. 🙂 Great post, Victoria. I love this kind of stuff.

    Like

  7. Every time I’ve taken it, I’m an ISTJ. I’ll be looking around your blog a little more when I have some time later.

    Like

    • Hey Michael, so glad you dropped by. 🙂

      For fun, I’ll post excerpts from the Keirsey Temperament website about ISTJ’s.

      Portrait of an Inspector:

      “The one word that best describes Inspectors is superdependable. Whether at home or at work, Inspectors are extraordinarily persevering and dutiful, particularly when it comes to keeping an eye on the people and products they are responsible for. In their quiet way, Inspectors see to it that rules are followed, laws are respected, and standards are upheld.

      Inspectors are still highly sociable, and are likely to be involved in community service organizations, such as Sunday School, Little League, or Boy and Girl Scouting, that transmit traditional values to the young. Like all Guardians, Inspectors hold dear their family social ceremonies-weddings, birthdays, and anniversaries – although they tend to be shy if the occasion becomes too large or too public.

      Generally speaking, Inspectors are not comfortable with anything that gets too fancy. Their words tend to be plain and down-to-earth, not showy or high-flown; their clothes are often simple and conservative rather than of the latest fashion; and their home and work environments are usually neat, orderly, and traditional, rather than trendy or ostentatious. As for personal property, they usually choose standard items over models loaded with features, and they often try to find classics and antiques – Inspectors prefer the old-fashioned to the newfangled every time.”

      http://www.keirsey.com/4temps/inspector.asp

      Can you relate to anything here?

      Like

      • First paragraph to a T. Second paragraph, “too large” is more than two other people. I’m thinking I may have a high functioning Asperger’s but I’m still exploring that as it’s a recent discovery. Third paragraph is pretty close. Does older music count as old-fashioned? I mostly enjoy eighties alternative.

        Like

  8. Well Good Evening Ms. INFJ. I am Professor ENFJ. 😉

    Need to take the Keirsey test! I’m curious now how it coincides with my Orchid DRD4-7R genetics (http://wp.me/p1uLmp-1mS)

    Like

  9. I’m always kind of fascinated by these sorts of tests. I know I am an INTJ (with a rather large F). I’ll let you know where I land here.

    Like

  10. I got INTJ/Rational Mastermind on Keirsey. I was conflicted on many questions. Once again, my thoughts win narrowly over my feelings.

    Like

Share your thoughts

