Victoria NeuroNotes

Into the Gray

I’m Changing Gears — Reader Beware

81 Comments

I have spent the better part of two months in self-reflection.  There’s a lot going on in my life right now, primarily because of what’s happened in the economy, as well as the fallout from the death throes of the religious right in the United States who are doing their damnedest to keep women pregnant, uneducated, and unempowered.   There is a method behind their madness, such as the Supreme Court cases with Hobby Lobby, and other similar lawsuits, which I will address in an upcoming post.  If you don’t find yourself royally pissed off and/or appalled by the dishonesty and hypocrisy behind these lawsuits, than perhaps you need to come out of la la land and back into reality.

Such apathy and lack of awareness leaves a stench in my nostrils.

But the point I want to make in this post is that I have been skirting around issues I really want to discuss for fear of offending my blogging friends who are Christians, Muslims, Jews or believers in their god(s) of choice.  But by doing so, I am not being my authentic self and I feel like a pressure cooker without a release valve.   From now on, this blog is going to be my release valve.  It’s not just going to be about belief or lack of belief in God.  Far from it.  It’s going to be about sharing my opinion and presenting the research on several topics that will bring awareness, educate and hopefully encourage discourse.  Some posts will have a serious edge, others will be lighthearted.

Please know that for those who have a deep faith in their god of choice, it may be best for you to stay away — if you feel you will be offended.  Belief in god is one thing, but when it interferes with the quality of human life, then I’m not going to sit idle and keep my mouth shut.  I want to provide fuel for thought, not try and convince people that they shouldn’t believe in god.   Belief in god is a personal thing — and should NOT be used to legislate laws that bring harm to society.

I hope I’m making myself clear.

People desire to be inspired.  I understand that, especially when there’s so much to be disheartened about right now.  So if you’re only looking to be inspired, you know where to find the door, but know that you are very much welcomed.  That’s not to say I won’t be writing inspirational posts.  I have a lot of thought-provoking information that is cutting edge and not in the mainstream, yet.  I don’t think you will be disappointed by what I’m going to bring to the table.

The Dark ages are behind us — let’s move on.

I welcome civil discourse from believers, non-believers and those in between.  My goal is to bring awareness and encourage unity and community, not division.  I hope others will contribute by sharing their own data, ideas, opinions, and experiences.

 

The half-mask is coming off!  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.  😉

Author: NeuroNotes

Victoria predominately blogs about religion, and the brain's role in religious type experiences.

81 thoughts on “I’m Changing Gears — Reader Beware

  1. I am warned — and appreciative for your courage and condor. Looking forward to the posts to come 😉

    Like

  2. Sounds exciting. Can’t wait and glad you are taking this approach. So easy for all blogs to become Labradors – fluffy and friendly and inoffensive and loved by all. I like a few Rottweiler’s and Dobermans and Pitbulls too.

    Like

  3. *Cues the theme from Rocky*

    The gloves are coming off! 😀

    Like

  4. Keeping women pregnant has always been about having a ready labor force. Frankly, I’d like to see the World’s population reduced by half.

    Like

  5. OH MY MY MY! I am SO looking forward to this “new gear”! LOL

    And as I know you know Victoria, you can’t offend me because I’m a Freethinking Humanist – offend me and you offend yourself too. 😉

    Bring it WOMAN! *applauds your courage*

    Like

  6. That sounds like fun! I’ll have to properly browse round your old posts to get an idea of the self-censored you.

    Like

  7. To my close friends reading this blog (you know who you are) — the ones I unloaded on when I should have been letting it out here — please accept my sincere apology. Thank you for your patients and graciousness. It’ incredibly freeing to know that I can be myself with you.

    Like

  8. Bring it on, girlfriend, ’bout damn time.

    😀

    I am looking forward! xo

    Like

  9. YAY! Love where you are going with this and I can’t wait to see more. Brave, authentic, fearless, beautiful woman! I’m in awe and so proud of you.
    ” I don’t think you will be disappointed by what I’m going to bring to the table.”
    Duh! As if we could ever be disappointed in you.
    Just saying, if you need a fellow a$$-kicker, I throw a mean left hook 😉
    xo

    Like

    • Hahahah — well, you can count on being a guess blogger here when I can get my ducks in a row, and when your life settles down a wee bit. I won’t hold my breath that things will get less busy with you anytime soon, but I’m hopeful, lol. I have a (sorta) unique angle I’m going to take. It will have my own twist. It won’t be your typical guest blogger post. I’ll drop you a line and let you know what I have in mind once I get the kinks worked out. And I promise it won’t take up copious amounts of your time. You’ve got enough irons in the fire on WP and beyond as it is.

      Thank you for your encouraging, kind words my friend. And for the offer of your a$$-kicking, mean left hook. 😀

      Like

  10. 🙂 I loved this post and (not to steal from other commenters but…), I’m looking forward! xo

    Like

  11. I join those looking forward to seeing what force of nature you unleash. I respect your perspective on issues, and you have more than once sent me into spaces of re-thinking my “pat answers” to things. At time when I am writing my own material, I listen to the “what would Victoria think/say” channel in my creative consciousness. Looking forward to the hiss of your pressure cooker.

    Like

    • Josh, it’s great to see you. That comment I made above “to my close friends” was directed at you, too. I think you’ve known for a while that I’ve needed this platform, and I apologize for my last email to you. That was the day that the SCOTUS was going to be hearing the contraceptive mandate lawsuit cases from ‘religious’ corporations, and well — your email with Jimmy Carter’s new book sent my pressure valve a hissing and sputtering like there was no tomorrow. I had just finished watching one of his human rights videos, ironically, where he stated that religion was harmful to women. So, I promise I will use this blog to ‘vent’ my frustrations (when need be) rather than venting to my close friends. Hopefully you know me by now. I mean well — I can just be very passionate when it comes to human rights.

      Like

  12. For a moment I thought my friend has recently become a christian after months of reflection 🙂
    I can’t wait for the salvo. I hope the bullets will come in volleys!

    Like

  13. Be afraid. Be very afraid… :0p

    I’m on the edge of my seat, V. Glad to hear you’re still swinging!

    Like

  14. There are people who want to make men’s lives more difficult for no other reason than the chance it provides them afterwards to offer their prescription for alleviating life; their Christianity, for instance. ~Friedrich Nietzsche

    It seems there are more people out there who doesn’t mind when your teeth comes out. I guess me naturally appreciating the authenticity and bite that provides to thinks shared could not be totally unique! *hugs*

    Like

    • Great quote.

      Morti, I’m sorry I’ve been out of touch. I will be on Skype sometime today. So much going on, and well, I didn’t want to dump on you. My unfortunate situation and that of my family, is due to the fallout from religious zealots at the top of the food chain. — i.e., a religious war that cost American taxpayers 3 trillion dollars, thousands of lives and disabilities, and untold damage that will unfold for years to come.

      But that wasn’t enough — no no — now we have religious corporations who are hell bend on creating a theocracy. What pisses me off about this is that people are so effing gullible that all a tyrant has to do is say they believe in god and they get the vote.

      Who is really responsible?

      “For men tied fast to the absolute, bled of their differences, drained of their dreams by authoritarian leeches until nothing but pulp is left, become a massive, sick Thing whose sheer weight is used ruthlessly by ambitious men. Here is the real enemy of the people: our own selves dehumanized into ”the masses.” And where is the David who can slay this giant?” ~Lillian Smith

      Like

      • Don’t worry my friend. I know you always have your reasons *hugs*

        I usually stack up the more interesting things I come across for when we next chat, my browser crashed yesterday when I reached 96 open fans hahaha .. so I guess I didn’t get to bombard you this time!

        Like

  15. Woohoo! I’m excited. I have no doubt that your true colors will be even more vibrant and breathtaking.

    Like

  16. Looking forward to reading along. Should be exciting!

    Like

    • Thanks you, Howie. When I finish a post I’ve been working on since yesterday, I plan to read that post you wrote and recommended to Brandon. I look forward to reading it after I decompress a bit from writing this last post. 😉 Thanks for dropping by, and for the follow.

      Like

  17. Funny that I read this after you and I have been discussing Authentic Self over at my little corner of the world…what a liftoff! I think that it’s a wonderful idea to come clean, so to speak, in your own setting. Your venue, your criteria, your thoughts. Or else it’s window dressing, isn’t it?

    I am a believer in my own way, in my own particular fashion, not predicated on a fundamentalist ideal or anything like that. I also like to feel that I am open minded. Then again, many of us that say that are often the opposite…especially when it is something that hits home for us. But having said that, I am very excited for you to open up in the way that feels genuine to you and your inner voice. Which won’t be inner any more 🙂

    Go at it, my friend. go with gusto, with passion, with ferver, with patience, with bravado, with integrity, with dignity, with sharpness, with dedication.

    Get your groove on 🙂

    Blessings,
    Paul

    Like

  18. Hello Victoria,

    I remember you telling me that this particular blog was to be your personal blog to fully express yourself months ago. I’m glad to see you sticking to your guns.

    Are you ready for a shove into the deep? I want to tell you about something I’ve been experiencing lately. It all started some time back in March, I began grieving the death of my paternal Nana. No, she didn’t die recently, she passed away in the 1990s while she was in her seventies and I was still in my twenties. Why the sudden mourning? I have no idea what specifically caused it to explode. I do know that my Nana was a fantastic southern belle. However, due to extensive physical, emotional and verbal abuse that she suffered by her dad and her husband, she intentionally didn’t allow herself to fully open up to anyone she loved. (This is an extremely long story that I’m trying to condense dramatically.) When she died, I had a firm belief in Jesus and Heaven. I held unto the hope that though we could not bond due to our damaged lives here on earth, we’d have the best relationship in heaven. After all, we would be two whole souls in the most perfect setting for love and relationship. I remember thinking that at the viewing of her body right before her funeral. I reached into the coffin and grabbed her hand. It was what I would call mushy. You know, soft and tender to the touch. I’m quite the weirdo, things that don’t frighten others scare the shit out of me and vice versa. Touching Nana’s hand gave me a hope of love and unity in my highly anticipated eternity. Thinking about her lately has caused me great sorrow. Not only will I not see heaven upon death, but we will never have that relationship that I always, always wanted to have with her. To me, she was Mighty Mae of the orange groves! She was queen in cooking and nature, loved citrus and died in Florida. Birds flocked to her and butterfly wings kissed her cheeks.

    This past weekend I heard IZ’s Somewhere over the Rainbow/What a Wonderful World medley on Pandora radio and I lost it! I then pulled it up on YOUTUBE and boo hooed some more. My favorite version of both songs is his, especially the one that begins “K, this one’s for Gabby!” Gabby was his brother. He and IZ were in a band together called Makaha Sons. Gabby died unexpectedly years before IZ did. They were very close and loved each other very much! You know how partial I am to this song and its significance in my life, but as soon as I heard that dedication in the intro the sorrow was stirred up, yet, again. Even as recently as last night, Jim walked into the room and caught me crying. I whimpered “I miss my Nana.”

    Like

    • My apologies, Victoria, Gabby was a dear friend of IZ’s. They weren’t biological brothers, but they were “bruddahs”.

      Like

    • Charity, thank you much for sharing so personally. I want to address your comment with as much thought as you put into your reply. I just recently published a post I’ve been needing to give birth to for a long time. It was ‘labor’ intense, and I need to decompress a bit before I get back with a response to you. I love you, and have the utmost respect for you. You helped inspired this blog. I can’t thank you enough. ❤

      Like

  19. I love it!!!! This is the best place for this. People on Facebook who are stuck in their old close-minded ways couldn’t handle it on Facebook. This is a great place for open-minded people.

    Like

  20. I came back today to reread this post and your next one. Your honesty merits the time for a decent comment! I wish I could do the little smileys, so this just needs to do… *smiles*

    What you share has shed a little more light on the beautiful person you really are, Victoria. Recently, I’ve also been struggling to write because I’m not being entirely honest, so I understand where you’re coming from. I do tend to worry too much what other people might think, but it’s ridiculous when that spills over into an anonymous blog! In my humble opinion, if you are not being offensive by using inappropriate words, etc, then being offended is more about another person’s narrow-minded perception, and none of us can be responsible for that.

    I look forward to being inspired by your “pressure valve” posts!

    Like

    • Cat — your post brought a huge smile to my face. I am touched by your kindness and generous words. Like Charity and others, your posts have inspired me to open up more. I made a commitment to myself back when I did the vulnerability post, and I’m sticking to that commitment. I have to block out the noise. I needed to get over this hurdle of offending people’s faith — because as I’ve mentioned before, there are people of faith who don’t try to cram it down your throat or make legislation based on their religion and usually at the cost of other’s well being. But I look at it this way now, if there faith is threatened by what I say, then their faith wasn’t that strong to begin with.

      Hope you have a fantastical weekend, my friend.

      Like

  21. Viewed from the other side of the big water the things I hear happening in the US send a shudder down my spin. I grew up in a time where the US was the promised land. Now as an adult I realize it got stuck in time and is degenerating into a backward nation. Reading you words brings pain and hope: pain that so many bright spirits are caught in the darkness. And hopeful that enlightenment is possible.

    Like

    • “I grew up in a time where the US was the promised land. Now as an adult I realize it got stuck in time and is degenerating into a backward nation.”

      This is exactly what’s happening. New studies indicate that we are quickly becoming a 3rd World country. We are doing just the opposite of what countries like yours are doing — which is looking out for the well being of its citizens — making them a priority — not money. From one article regarding the findings of a recent study:

      Global Rankings Study Depicts an America in Warp Speed Decline

      “Harvard business professor Michael E. Porter, who earlier developed the Global Competitiveness Report, designed the SPI. A new way to look at the success of countries, the SPI studies 132 nations and evaluates 54 social and environmental indicators for each country that matter to real people. Rather than measuring a country’s success by its per capita GDP, the index is based on an array of data reflecting suicide, ecosystem sustainability, property rights, access to healthcare and education, gender equality, attitudes toward immigrants and minorities, religious freedom, nutrition, infrastructure and more.

      We find ourselves languishing for the very fact we have allowed corporate America to hijack the entire Republican Party, and some parts of the Democratic Party. The index measures the livability of each country. People everywhere depend on and care about similar things. “We all need clean water. We all want to feel safe and live without fear. People everywhere want to get an education and improve their lives,” says Porter. But economic growth alone doesn’t guarantee these things.

      While the U.S. enjoys the second highest per capita GDP of $45,336, it ranks in an underperforming 16th place overall. It gets worse. The U.S. ranks 70th in health, 69th in ecosystem sustainability, 39th in basic education, 34th in access to water and sanitation and 31st in personal safety.

      More surprising is the fact that despite being the home country of global tech heavyweights Microsoft, Cisco, IBM, Oracle, and so on, the U.S. ranks a disappointing 23rd in access to the Internet. “It’s astonishing that for a country that has Silicon Valley, lack of access to information is a red flag,” notes Michael Green, executive director of the Social Progress Imperative, which oversees the index.

      If this index is an affront to your jingoistic sensibilities, the U.S. remains in first place for the number of incarcerated citizens per capita, adult onset diabetes and for believing in angels.

      New Zealand is ranked in first place in social progress. Interestingly, it ranks only 25th on GDP per capita, which means the island of the long white cloud is doing a far better job than America when it comes to meeting the need of its people. In order, the top 10 is rounded out by Switzerland, Iceland, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Canada, Finland, Denmark and Australia.

      Unsurprisingly these nations all happen to rank highly in the 2013 U.N. World Happiness Report with Denmark, Norway, Switzerland, the Netherlands and Sweden among the top five.

      Like

  22. Thanks for following my blog, you are probably following roughseas which is my main one about my life in Gibraltar and Spain. I do have another one which is not quite as fluffy where I write about whatever is annoying me, You may find that of more interest. Cloudsmovingin etc….

    Like

    • Yes, I initiated follow from roughseas as that was where I was notified that you were following me. I’ll check out your other blog— and I appreciate the follow as well.

      Like

      • I don’t expect – or do – reciprocal follows, but I appreciated some of your comments over on violet’s (I think). My latest post on clouds is about religion but it’s a one off. Normally I write about more meaningful things in life.

        Like

        • I look forward to the day I can write about meaningful things that are more uplifting. Right now the U.S. ship is sinking — so I’m focused on bailing out the water and assisting in repairing the damage that’s been done by the religious right and corporations. They are in bed with each other having a good fuck at the expense of millions of its citizens.

          Like

        • I also wanted to say thanks regarding my comments on Violet’s blogs. I have appreciated your contribution there as well.

          Like

Share your thoughts

