Victoria NeuroNotes

My Thoughts Exactly

118 Comments

Richard Feynman compares Science to Mystic Answers. (5 minutes)

 

“Nature is going to come out the way she is.  Therefore, when we go to investigate her, we shouldn’t pre-decide what it is we are trying to do to find out more about it.  Mysteries are those I want to investigate without knowing the answers to them.”  ~  Richard Feynman

 

 

Author: NeuroNotes

Victoria predominately blogs about religion, and the brain's role in religious type experiences.

118 thoughts on “My Thoughts Exactly

  1. Hadn’t heard of this guy til now, but what a wise, reasonable, and intelligent man. He seems to have been a true gem of our species. We need more like him.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Jeff, thanks for watching the short clip. If you clicked on his name, you will probably recognize him, his work and contributions. He passed away in 1988. He was an American theoretical physicist known for his work in the path integral formulation of quantum mechanics, the theory of quantum electrodynamics, and the physics of the superfluidity of supercooled liquid helium, as well as in particle physics. Feynman has been credited with pioneering the field of quantum computing, and introducing the concept of nanotechnology.

      He played an important role on the Presidential Rogers Commission, which investigated the Challenger disaster. During a televised hearing, Feynman demonstrated that the material used in the shuttle’s O-rings became less resilient in cold weather by compressing a sample of the material in a clamp and immersing it in ice-cold water. The commission ultimately determined that the disaster was caused by the primary O-ring not properly sealing in unusually cold weather at Cape Canaveral. During his lifetime, Feynman became one of the best-known scientists in the world.

      In a 1999 poll of 130 leading physicists worldwide by the British journal Physics World he was ranked as one of the ten greatest physicists of all time.

      Does he sound familiar to you now?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes. I looked him up and remember him from the Challenger accident. What a great guy. And bloody f*ckin’ brilliant too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Always loved this particular interview. Have you seen the whole thing?

    Like

  4. YAY! You’re back!
    You have been on my mind, girlie…a LOT!
    I loved the quote you chose….it’s the way I like to approach mysteries, too.
    I promise to write you this week. All is great here. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Michelle, I’m trilled to hear from you, and thanks for watching. TYT writing. I know you have a hectic schedule. I’m just happy you popped in. I’ve been busy with advocacy work so haven’t had much time to post.

      “I loved the quote you chose….it’s the way I like to approach mysteries, too.”

      Seriously, isn’t it true? Life is so much more awe inspiriting, exciting and curiously delicious when you approach the mysteries without a mindset of believing you already know the answers.

      Like

  5. I have often quoted Feynman for his many excellent points. I use the same term ‘the world’ to describe our pursuit of coming to a better understanding of it and just how poorly religion has done in this regard. Claims made about ‘the world’ and supposed divine and varied agencies it supposedly contains really should be supported by compelling evidence from the world one might think…, yet inevitably the defense of religions seeks out metaphysics rather than ‘the world’ to try to do this job. The tactic is dead giveaway that the religious claim is empty of knowledge value applicable to the world or descriptive of it, which goes a very long way to explaining why religious belief (and the metaphysics used to defend it) doesn’t work to produce any answers worth knowing about the world. It just makes shit up and urges its adherents to call those who point this fact out very unpleasant names (at the very least).

    Liked by 1 person

    • It just makes shit up and urges its adherents to call those who point this fact out very unpleasant names (at the very least).

      I concur, and we are finding this out continually now. People with agendas could get away with it then. It’s not so easy anymore.

      Like

  6. Feynman was one of my heroes, prior to his death from cancer – what he’s saying, in the above quotation, is that he likes to approach science with an open mind, and let the evidence tell him what conclusions to draw – the religious should consider trying that!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hey Victoria, glad to see you posting again. I remember Feynman mainly because Arch has posted his stuff a few times in comments. Everything he expressed here is right in line with my own approach. He said a lot of very practical and useful things in this clip. I’d have to quote the whole thing to tell you the things I liked. 🙂

    Like

  8. And he played bongos … apparently. 🙂

    Like

  9. Hello Stranger! 🙂

    Have some time to read a few of your posts; surprise. Wonderful interview clip. As Mr. Feynman was discussing doubt and asking questions about the Universe, Earth, and our place in it all, and said it is okay and good to ask and doubt…I couldn’t help but remember the religious Apologist’s counter to that mentality wrapped in the New Testament caricature of “Doubting Thomas.” I wonder, why did that come to mind? lol

    Like

    • Well, well, well. Lookie who’s graced my blog.

      It’s wonderful to see you again, Professor. No doubt your teaching schedule has taken up most of your time. I really admire your stamina and drive.

      Doubting Thomas — a skeptic asking for proof. *gasp* Weren’t they cleverly cunning when they convinced believers that not questioning or doubting is righteous and will help ensure a ticket to heaven?

      Liked by 2 people

      • At my former small liberal arts (i.e. Christian) college, then post-graduate seminary, also closely affiliated (Reformed Theological Seminary) to my college, my philosophy teacher always shared a profound phrase: “intellectual suicide.” He would defend that subscribing (as a born-again believer) to Evangelical Christianity was NOT committing intellectual suicide. While that may be true in very general terms, common-sense, street-smarts, etc, I have since been unsuccessful in supporting it specifically….more so with regard to Divine Interventions/Evidence or revelation.

        Putting myself in their shoes/thinking-caps (done literally for 10 years also) pure and simple, “divine revelation” comes only in two forms: 1) scripture, which can be thoroughly tested and examined, or 2) personal contact via some profound event — typically during a high-stress exhausting event. I have no issues whatsoever with #2 as long as it isn’t shoved in my face & life, or more precisely, evangelized into my life. “Spiritual events” are quiet common, indeed life-changing — but they are also not globally consistent.

        On the otherhand, #1 is most certainly the real problem. And as we are both alluding to… it is becoming increasingly obvious with every decade since year 1 of the Common Era, that “doubting and asking questions” is not conducive to power-retainment. So what does the Greco-Roman bishops (and Vatican) of the time do? Edit and insert into the “hard evidence” (or infallible scriptures the power-retainment Hmm, now swallowing THAT system IS intellectual suicide. 😉

        Liked by 2 people

        • Prof – I don’t know you (as Victoria seems to), but I like your comment. Which, to be realistic, means that it fell in with my own confirmation bias, and didn’t produce any cognitive dissonance (wouldn’t want you to believe I didn’t think it through).

          Liked by 1 person

          • archaeopteryx1,

            Hello and thank you for the affirmation. To further add to our comments, I should clarify my own position on Divine revelations, specifically “holy scripture” versus the paranormal or metaphysical. I personally do adhere to a life-system or existence that is harmonious with the paranormal, or afterlife, or Multiverse as opposed to Universe. However, I am very much opposed to any life-system or world-view that DIS-empowers individuals of their spiritual abilities, e.g. the Abrahamic religions to name three. I also am much opposed to universal monisms or singularity that all three proport, e.g. John 14:6, or Exodus 20:3. But an individual’s unique spiritual path fits nicely into my own life-belief-system, which certainly includes Quantum Physics/Mechanics!

            In my 23 post-Xian seminary years, I’ve found that ‘scriptural revelation’ is wrought with holes and discrepencies…unworthy (at least today) of its once lofty status. Thought I should point this out because I’m unsure of what side of Victoria’s discussion/debate you are on simply based on your one comment to me. Think I shall scrowl up to read more of your comments. 🙂

            Respectful regards

            Like

      • Also, I don’t know if you knew or not, but over the last couple of years I have learned MUCH about my family heritage & origins, at least on my maternal side. There is a very good reason why I have what could be called a heritical heritage! LOL

        As it turns out, my ancestors (Waldensians and others from the Chambons-Mentoulles of Cluson Valley, Italy and Lyon, France just north of the Cathars) where hunted by the RCC…both groups who really did not care for centralized power or retainment of spiritual matters! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  10. “when we go to investigate her, we shouldn’t pre-decide what it is we are trying to do to find out more about it”
    Not that I know anything about science, but is that really scientific? I thought scientists put forward their best guess theories about things and worked till they could prove things, or were proven wrong. Like the Higgs boson was ‘pre-decided’ in the shape of a theory until it was proven recently, after decades of assumption it existed. Surely scientists generally do decide what they’re looking for. The only difference is that they’re open to correction and revision.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Wow – loved the video and the comments went right over my head. I am in deep waters here with no water wings…lol. Heavy stuff from your very knowledgable readers / commenters.

    I call myself a seeker, and yet I too am okay not knowing it all. I like what he said about leaving the world without some answers, about having some doubt. I seek in the spirit, but also recognize that there are many pieces that are a part of this mosaic. Scientific, psychological, biological, etc. It’s all part of a greater truth, one of which we may only know a small portion of. And I am fine with that. My vision isn’t so grand. I try to just remember where I left my phone and what time I have my dentist appointment on Tuesday. Sometimes the grand scheme is too grand for me…lol.

    In the end, what I take away is that having a pre-conceived notion of things can cloud our perception.

    Nice to see you again, Victoria 🙂

    Paul

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hey Paul — excited to see you. I’m glad you like the video and I figured you’d resonate with it. There is an incredible freedom in claiming to not know it all. I am of the opinion that we have a 3rd basic instinct. Curiosity. What an incredibly boring life we’d lead if we had all the answers. I really don’t required anything or anyone to fill in the gaps. I love the gaps. 😀

      “In the end, what I take away is that having a pre-conceived notion of things can cloud our perception.”

      That is brilliantly stated and insightful. Thanks for dropping by.

      Like

  12. He sounds like me when I try to explain something and you can’t find the right words. Brilliant post and share Vic. Thanks. 😀 ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Sonel, I can relate, lol. I’m glad you popped in. I also wanted to tell you that I had a chance to catch up on your blog the other day, but I could only comment on one of your posts (most recent one) because you had the comments turned off. I know you do that intentionally and I understand why. But I wanted to say that your pictures took my breath away. The details just boggle my mind. I was also so excited to see mama and her baby. So adorable. Did she seem skittish at all when she introduced her little one to you? That must have been an incredible moment when you saw the little one for the first time. But wow, I didn’t realize there were more mama’s you were tending to. Was her name Gizmo or Gremlin? — (my short-term memory sucks), but her little one looked just like a gremlin. 😀

      ♥ back at cha my talented friend.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Glad you can hon and always great to visit you when I can. 😀

        It sounds like you did more than I did in one day. hahahah, but thanks for wanting to comment. Sometimes I feel like turning them off permanently. LOL! Blogging and answering comments and visiting other blogs do take lots of time and there just ain’t enough of it during the day. Some days by the time I am finished with everything I had to do, I am too tired to think or blog. So yeah, that sucks most of the times.

        Thanks for the lovely compliment hon and they are totally adorable. The two younger mothers are getting used to the fact that I have no interest in taking their babies from them. Mama is used to me and know me for nearly 4 years now and makes it her business to come and ‘show’ me the baby when it arrives.

        Yes, this year there are 3 of them and they are getting bigger by the day. It’s Mama, Little Mama and then there’s Gremlin. They were here this morning again and the little ones are being taught how to climb a tree. Too cute! LOL!

        hahahaha! Yeah, I named her Gremlin because of her hair that stand out to the side and because she is always pulling a face at the others and then looks just like those Gremlins in the movie I once saw. Guess the baby must have something of its mother. LOL!

        Thanks hon and ♥ more hugs ♥ ❤

        Like

        • Sonel, no need to reply back, but I just wanted to say that that’s so awesome that Mama wanted to show off her baby to you. That says a lot about you and the trust she has for you, especially since she’s an alpha. Way to go, girlfriend. Jane Goodall would be in awe of you. xx

          Liked by 1 person

          • Sweetness, when it comes to anything that’s close to my heart, I make time to answer back and you are one of those. I love talking to you and Kate. *Don’t tell anyone else* LOL!

            They are the most amazing little darlings ever Victoria and I love them to bits. It’s so funny when she arrives, then all the others go sit on the side and watch her eat. She just has this ‘air of authority’ about her. Sometimes I hold out my hand with peanuts in it, and she would just hold my fingers in her soft little hand while eating. The best feeling ever! 😀

            I would have loved to do what Jane Goodall did hon. She was an amazing lady. Thanks for the lovely compliment, but I am nothing compared to her. 😀 ♥

            Like

  13. Thank you for you’re posts makes me grateful to hear and read. “Wow , ain’t life grand!!”

    Liked by 2 people

  14. What an impressive fellow he was. Brilliant! His message of the “why” of science highlights the wonder and intellectual curiosity that is the true elixir of life. The magic lies not in discovery of the answers, but the pursuit of the answers. My happiness is that once answers are found, they raise many more questions to pursue.

    Liked by 2 people

    • “The magic lies not in discovery of the answers, but the pursuit of the answers. My happiness is that once answers are found, they raise many more questions to pursue.”

      Max, this is a fantastic quote of yours and I couldn’t agree more. I am going to save this to my favorite quotes file. Thank you for dropping by and for your insightful contribution.

      Liked by 2 people

  15. Thank you so much. I really appreciate the compliment.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Great stuff! I’ve seen atheist memes of him. I couldn’t agree more.

    Liked by 3 people

Share your thoughts

