Victoria NeuroNotes

Into the Gray

The Warning — Child’s Play

117 Comments

I’ve been working on an upcoming post about brain development in children, which is predominately influenced by their environment. The majority of brain development occurs after birth.  Approximately 90% occurs by the age of 5.

During my research I came across this video. All I could say after watching it was…

Wow!


Daniela – Guitar – 14 yrs old
Paulina – Drums – 12 yrs old
Alejandra – Bass Guitar – 9 yrs old

 

What ever environment and activities children interact and engage in play a major role in stimulating and influencing the pattern of the connections made between the nerve cells. Combined with love, support, a sense of security and proper nutrition, this process influences the development of fine and gross motor skills, language, socialization, personal awareness, emotional well-being, creativity, problem solving and learning ability.

Throughout history, society has predominately treated children as property, and in doing so, grossly underestimated their potential brain development and the kind of environment they require to reach their full potential and thrive.

More “wow” coming soon.

Author: NeuroNotes

Victoria predominately blogs about religion, and the brain's role in religious type experiences.

117 thoughts on “The Warning — Child’s Play

  1. wow! Really wow.
    That’s so impressive

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That sure is a WOW!! I love it!

    As a teacher, I am keenly aware of how very important it is that children receive instruction in Art and Music in school; often the first things cut in times of financial restraint, as many people consider these things ‘frills’. I’m not advocating instruction in these things over some others, mind you, just that stimulation of various kinds – (intellectual, musical, physical, etc.) increases synaptic connections. That’s what it’s all about!

    Just think how empowered those three girls must be, to know they have that kind of talent! They ROCK!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great vid. V interesting on the brain development front. In traditional non-literate societies that I’ve read about children are not treated so much as children but as potential community members. Where stories are one of the main tools of transmitting cultural beliefs, customs, values and history, they are told to the whole gathering. In fact in some societies storytelling cannot take place unless children are present, this on the understanding that you can never start learning too soon to become a good community member.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I couldn’t agree more, Tish. Also, I have read a good bit of research about some societies, including non-affluent tribal societies, where they live the “it takes a village” concept. When these children feel safe and have a sense of belonging, they are bright and incredibly well adjusted. I love the part where you state that in some societies storytelling cannot take place unless children are present.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Those girls are impressive! I know your post will be too.

    It’s weird to think my kids are basically done with their brain development. Hope we did them justice.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. How ironic that you were writing then posted this simultaneously with my recent post of my Dad’s note: Children Learn What They Live! How cool is that? LOL

    Now that I am in my latter half-century years and I “struggle” more with certain sensory functions due to my long long love of loud drums and heavy loud Rock-n-Roll — I say “excuse me” a lot, and “could you repeat that?” or “come again?” — I’m not sure I would promote Metallica (or any loud metal music) to young ears…unless there are industrial-strength earplugs in use. 😉

    Looking forward to the next post! “Huh?” I SAID I’M LOOKING FORWARD TO THE NEXT POST!!! “What?”

    Liked by 1 person

    • You slay me, Professor. 😀 I am laughing so hard right now. However, you bring up a good point, and I thought I’d fill you in on a little secret. Those girls wear high fidelity earplugs — in ear monitors which were developed specifically as hearing protectors for musicians and production personnel who are exposed to unsafe sound levels.

      I LOVED your recent post, btw, especially since I was privileged to hear you read your dad’s note to me over the phone last year. Warmed my heart.

      Liked by 1 person

      • “Slay”? Umm, should I take that as a compliment or indictment!? 😮 😈

        Now DAMN IT! WHY couldn’t they have invented those high-fidelity earplugs for the ears of the 80’s and 90’s!? Like always picking the wrong slow grocery line, I’m in the impaired line and didn’t know it… or couldn’t hear the directions!

        Thank you Love. Yes, you were the 3rd person to hear it since the 1950’s. Apparently you hold a special place in my life! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • “Slay”? Umm, should I take that as a compliment or indictment!?”

          I’ll leave that to your wild and “creative” imagination. 😈

          “Yes, you were the 3rd person to hear it since the 1950’s. Apparently you hold a special place in my life!”

          I am honored. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  6. Victoria – I hope you don’t mind that I’m replying to everyone on the site, but I had ‘connections’ to each reply.

    First of all, mak – I did not see your reply first, honest! (it’s obvious we were thinking the same thing, though!)

    Tish – I loved that story about the children in non-literate societies; and that’s so true on a number of levels, that “it’s never too early to start learning to be a good community member”!

    MMJ – your comment is exactly what I thought when I heard those girls playing – “We (my husband and I) should have done MORE!” (and we thought we were run off our feet going to various ‘lessons’ as it was!)

    Finally, Professor Taboo – I laughed when I read about your hearing loss from listening to loud music , as it’s kinda like breaking one’s leg downhill skiing – a ‘prestigious injury’, in my mind!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Me mind? Don’t make me come over there. 😀 I love reading your comments, no matter who you are addressing them to. xx

      Liked by 1 person

    • Carmen, I’m often accused (by girlfriends) that it’s really just selective hearing! Ugh, so there’s ANOTHER downside: creating a relationship minefield, that has imaginary mines!!! 😉

      With a positive spin though, music is and has been a HUGE part of my growing up. Both sides of my family were big frequent dancers! I grew up learning the health benefits of spiritually & physically connecting to music and rhythm. It reconnects me to my place, family, community, and planet… sharing it with others dancing (bonding?)! Afterwards, I have much less anxiety or stress about life’s weekly rat-race. Woot woot! 😛

      Like

  7. OMFG! I have been playing guitar for 35+ years. Been in a few bands here and there. Been in a well equipped studio recording. All I can say is I am absolutely blown away by this vid. Great gear to start with, great sound, looks like a studio environment, Incredible talent.

    I was impressed to start, then when the gal transitioned into the lead solo, using the wah, that was the moment I was blown away.

    I have 2 boys still at home, both are learning to play guitar, and why not they have a built in teacher. I fully believe that you can’t really cast kids into the mold you want, you have to just try to lead them in the right direction. Teach them to think, give them opportunities to use that skill, and try to help them develop other skills they have an interest in, such as music.

    I am some sort of musical empath. Well done live music, whether it is a genre I like or not, has the ability to bring a tear to my eye. This vid did just that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • SD, I LOVED your comment and especially because it’s coming from the perspective of a musician.

      ” I fully believe that you can’t really cast kids into the mold you want, you have to just try to lead them in the right direction. Teach them to think, give them opportunities to use that skill, and try to help them develop other skills they have an interest in, such as music.

      Spot on! To add to your comment, to attempt to turn children into mini-me’s (not uncommon) is a travesty; it is selfish, and dare I say, a form of child abuse.

      Like

  8. They rock!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Awesome. And it is awesome to see what great things children can accomplish when they are nurtured, encouraged, and loved as people and not objects of possession by their care givers. The opposite is also, sadly, very true. To neglect and abuse children produces hurt, impaired adults with poorly developed synapses in their brains. Human beings need to be loved and nurtured from the time they’re conceived. That is the key to our survival as a species. IMO. Great post, as usually, Victoria.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. 🙂

      “And it is awesome to see what great things children can accomplish when they are nurtured, encouraged, and loved as people and not objects of possession by their care givers.”

      Truly well said, Jeff. As Tish pointed out, you don’t need monetary wealth or live in a literate society to accomplish this. As you mentioned — the key ingredients to brain development are nurture, encouragement, and love — all of which have historically been devalued.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Hello, dear Victoria!
    I can’t wait to read more…but, admit to being nervous.
    What if I didn’t do enough before the age of 5? My immediate response to this.”Uh-Oh! What if I doomed my kiddos?”
    While it looks like we covered the basics (love, security, nutrition)…I always worry that there’s more I could have done. Then, I just gotta laugh. What parent thinks he/she did a perfect job, right?
    Much love and light to you, my friend! xoxoox

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Michelle — I seriously think you have little to worry about. It’s not about dragging your kids to every activity and lesson. It’s about providing them (especially early on) a safe, secure, loving, nurturing environment where they have the freedom to explore and interact with their primary caregivers and others. I have no doubt you’ve done just that.

      PS — I apologize about the delay in email. I’m still in catch-up / recovery mode after the recent out-of-state move. xx

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Amazing vid, Victoria. Looking forward to reading your post 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Stars in the making! I’m with John — Paulina is awesome! Double awesome!

    This video is an excellent visual (and auditory) example of what good child-rearing can do. But we need to remember that many of the “geeky” kids in school often come from homes where the parents have “stimulated and influenced” their children’s natural talents. Many of the greatest scientists, philosophers, cosmologists, mathematicians, etc. were raised in homes that nurtured and encouraged them to pursue their passions.

    But you know this already.

    In any case, there’s little doubt most of us are the way we are because of the way we were raised.

    Like

  13. Not sure who you’re referring to: “In American, a certain powerful sector is doing their damnedest to undermine this,” but it immediately made me thing of the parents (generally Christian) who feel that “home schooling” is the best for their children. While home schooling can play a big role in the nurturing and development of natural talents, in too many cases, it actually stunts mental development because it’s limited to a biased viewpoint of the world.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I totally agree with what many said – Paulina is a master at drums, which is no easy task. Young musical brains are always so impressive. Looking forward to your next post.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Like their nice noisy music. Takes me back about 40 years. Reading about children’s development though (pause, you are going to expect this) was how indoctrinated children are into gender specific roles.

    Talk about a light bulb moment. Little girl, stay quietly in the corner. Come here little boy and look out of the window. That big wide world is all yours. Reading that was a wow moment for me.

    Sounds lke you have a big topic to cover, hope it’s in instalments.

    Didn’t realise you had moved. Hope it went well, and that all is well with you too 🙂

    Like

  16. Yep… get ’em when their young! I introduced Ems to my guitar tutor when she was five or six. Best thing iI ever did.
    Saw Metallica when they played South Africa a few years back.
    What a gig!

    The young woman has got the Metal Look down to to a T. Especially the squinting and face pulling!
    Nice.
    Needs a voice coach though.
    🙂 Good one.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I’m floored! I am sending this video to my daughter in law, who is musically inclined, to consider. My Granddaughter is 2 years old. Thank you for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Pingback: CHILD’S PLAY: All Girl-Child Band – The Warning | The Benevolent Thou

  19. WHERE does that talent come from? My Thor! I took piano for years and never developed that much talent. What’s so amazing to me is that it’s all coming from within. His fingers are just flying across the keyboard as he creates sounds that fall together in perfect harmony. Wow. That’s all I can say.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Nan, did you start at a very young age, and did you love playing the piano? Did you like your teacher(s). There are so many variables, mostly environmentally related. But I think the issue is that adults simply didn’t provide a conducive environment while they were young, thus synaptic pruning took place. There could have been a number of reasons why the environment was not conducive for brain development early on.

      **Two-day old infants show a preference for some music over others (N. Masataka, 1999).
      **Nearly all infants babble with melody and intonation (Gardner, 1997, p. 251).
      **At 1, children can often match pitch (Kessen, Levine & Peindich, 1978).
      **At 1 1/2, children engage in spontaneous song (Kessen, Levine & Peindich, 1978)
      **At 2 1/2, children show extended awareness of songs by others (Davidson, 1994, in R. Aiello)
      **”Musical development continues beyond the age of 7 or so only in an environment that provides some sort of tutelage.” (Gardner, 1997, p. 253; Gardner, 1973; Winner, 1982)
      **Absolute (“perfect”) pitch is not a genetic accident or random occurrence, but is developed in young childhood under specific external conditions (D. Deutsch, 2004; Takeuchi & Hulse, 1993).

      From the website “The Genus In Us All” it states:

      Can anyone be a great musician? No — there are all sorts of limitations. Some are severely physically disabled, others intellectually disabled. Others don’t have the childhood resources of encouragement and training. Others never develop the intense desire, for whatever reason. There are lots of obstacles out there.

      The point that I think shines through in all this research is that we need to sweep aside this old notion that most people simply don’t have IT (innate talent). The IT — the greatness — is something you acquire, not something you are given or are not given. Some may face too many obstacles to acquire IT but few are born with limitations so severe that the acquisition is inherently impossible.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I don’t remember my exact age when I started lessons … probably around 5 or 6? And yes, I loved playing the piano. My (adoptive) mother played, so there was an example to follow as well as plenty of encouragement. I also loved my instructor. I actually played quite well, but the big difference is I nearly always used/needed sheet music. I was very envious of those who could play “by ear.” And when it comes to these musical prodigies … well, I am simply in awe.

        As for “innate talent” — I’m afraid I must disagree with the “experts” — at least in the musical field. I’ve known too many people who simply “couldn’t carry a tune.” And even though I had musical training and could “hear” the sounds that needed to go together, I have a HORRIBLE singing voice.

        Like

      • As for myself, I loved music and I loved the vision of myself as an accomplished piano or saxophone player far more than I loved the everyday playing required to fulfill that vision. I still feel badly that my poor parents tolerated that cacophony, and a profound respect for the musical tastes of my dog, who did not.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Also wanted to mention that I’ve read studies and watched lectures showing that our current education system was conceived and structured for a different age — the 18 and 19th centuries. Based on our current education system, we are actually dumbing down children, especially when it comes to divergent thinking which is essential for creativity.

      Education and Creativity expert Sir Ken Robinson challenges the way we’re educating our children. He champions a radical rethink of our school systems, to cultivate creativity and acknowledge multiple types of intelligence.

      Like

Share your thoughts

