Victoria NeuroNotes

Reblog: Unlearning God By Michael Vito Tosto

This is a straightforward, and poignantly written post on the impact of biblical-church indoctrination, and the realization of the painstaking process (taking years, even decades) to deprogram and reprogram the brain, psyche and behavior.

“I think the biggest mistake I ever made in life was choosing to believe in a personal God. From this one choice, so many other wrong choices followed. Because I took part in the God delusion, I went through roughly the first third of my life believing a lie, a lie that led me to think there was a benevolent force in the Universe who cared about me, knew me personally, and was involved the minutiae of my daily life.

When a person believes such things as these, he is liable to make choices based on those beliefs. Since I now know there is no personal God in existence, I must reflect on my life thus far and realize, with some sadness and regret, that I made the wrong choices for the wrong reasons.”

Continue to Michael’s post


Author: NeuroNotes

Victoria predominately blogs about religion, and the brain's role in religious type experiences.

Comments are closed.