Victoria NeuroNotes

Into the Gray

Still But Still Around

81 Comments

The last couple of months I’ve been on a blogging hiatus, although it wasn’t planned. I’m still reading posts from my beloved favs. Today, I felt like doing a short post. Perhaps it will serve as a jump-start.

I love it when I run into music that really resonates with me, and coincides with a season in my life.

If only that happened more often.  When it does, I consider it awe by accident. While browsing YouTube over the weekend, I came upon this exhilarating wingsuiting video, and that’s how I got introduced to the music and musicians.

Here’s the video with Roberta Mancino as she wingsuits through the Panama City skyline, followed by the full track.

emoticon music

a bell must be hollow to sing
it rings
it rings; I am empty.
so still
so still
so still deep water must be to see beneath
to be hollow, with no marrow
light as a lifted wing
light enough to sing

 

heart-2

Tænker på dig. Glædelig jul.


Author: NeuroNotes

Victoria predominately blogs about religion, and the brain's role in religious type experiences.

81 thoughts on “Still But Still Around

  1. Wooohoooo!!! She’s back!!! Well, sort of. 🙂

    Great music vidoes Victoria. Thank you! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, sorta, and thank you. I think you’ve got awesome taste in music, so I’m glad you like it. Has a little Sigur Ros flavor to it.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Mmmm, thank you Dear. That is a very nice comparison. Purity Ring, Röyksopp, Dead Can Dance, and some others fall inline with Sigur Ros, yes. Because of my ancestral musical-dancing heritage, particularly to percussion (tribal percussion especially), I do indeed have primal tendencies to this beautiful Earth and how abundantly she sustains us and keeps us close… if we let Her.

        Very glad you’re sort of back. You’ve been missed. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thanks for the suggestions. I’ve just now listened to a few from Purity Ring and Röyksopp.
          Röyksopp (Running to the Sea) reminds me of Above and Beyond. Love A & B.
          Just listened a bit to Dead Can Dance from the album Anastasis. Oh, I likie.

          “If we let her.”

          😉

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Just brilliant, Victoria. Happy festive season to you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Do you know Danish? “Tænker på dig. Glædelig jul.” is Danish.

    I live near Denmark. In Sweden. “Tänker på dig. God Jul.” is Swedish

    Both phrases mean “Thinking of you[, Victoria!] Wish you a Merry Christmas. [Hopefully a secular one. ]

    Glad to see you make a comeback, Victoria! Have missed you!

    Here is a song I want to dedicate to you: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GC5E8ie2pdM .

    The lyrics is about you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have a dear friend who’s Danish, but I do not know the language very well. It’s not an easy language to learn. I love the Scandinavian culture. I wished I was living in your neck of the woods. You guys rock!

      “Hopefully a secular one.”

      Pagan all the way. 😉

      Thanks so much for the song dedication. Wow. Can’t go wrong with Tina. She’s simply the best, and so is your thoughtfulness and support. It’s comforting to feel missed.

      Tänker på dig. God Jul my friend.

      Like

  4. Love it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Welcome back! Good to ‘hear your voice’. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely music, and welcome back.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Gorgeous song. Here’s to the jump start! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Been wondering when you would write something.
    Greetings good friend

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Been wondering about you. I’m glad to see you’ve surfaced. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. That could be an eyelashes ad!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Victoria, your posts have been greatly missed by me.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Hi there Victoria!

    So glad you’re sort of back. I’ve missed you so much. Last night I almost left you a comment on your last post.

    I hope your holiday is going well and you’re in good health. I hope you, your daughter and the rest of your family enjoy a season of peace and love.

    I don’t know how long I’ll visit blogs this go around. The kids are out for Christmas and my surgery is one week from today. Bye, bye baby box, hello life! 😉

    More than likely today will be my last day for a while. I wish you and your readers the happiest of holidays!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Charity, I’ve missed you very much, as well. I’ve been thinking about you lots, especially because of your upcoming surgery.

      “Bye, bye baby box, hello life!”

      Haha, that’s a great way to look at it. Love you, girlfriend, and I, too, wish you and your family the happiest of holidays. ❤

      Check this out. 😉

      Like

      • Very fitting being that I’m having a relatively new type of hysterectomy done.

        Just looking forward to not having a jumbo size womb dominating my bladder’s space. I’ll be able to drink much more water as well. Hopefully, it’ll restore my physical health, help my weight issues and heal my liver as well.

        Thanks, V

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Anyone who can quote Jimi and use the quote as a damn header …. phew!

    What can I say …

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Beautiful music, Victoria! And wingsuiting… That was incredible. I’d never seen that before.
    Thanks for sharing these!
    +c

    Like

  15. Great song with beautiful lyrics, and I liked the wing suit video, but I would never try something like that, knowing the unexpected turbulent eddies that can happen between buildings. lol

    Liked by 1 person

  16. “Awe by accident”
    Did you hear me squeal when I saw your post in my inbox this morning??
    So wonderful to have you back, if even for a moment.
    I love how music inspires us in so many ways.
    And, the “still” in your title immediately caught my eye. I’m working on my word for the year “still” is on the top two.
    Love you sister!

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Hey, I meant to post this yesterday.

    This is how I’m feeling about some people in my life right now. It’s basically a mellowed out f you to users and abusers.

    I’m seriously becoming a belieber.

    Like

  18. Victoria

    I know tornadoes and other storms have hit Mississippi really hard, three are already dead. Has anything hit you guys. Please let me know with an email or a reply here that you’re okay. I don’t know if it’s as far south as you. I just need to know that you and your Mississippi readers are fine. If there’s anything that you need please let me know!

    Love you!
    Charity

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Glædelig Jul, Victoria

    🙂

    *hugs tight*

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Sending you love and warm wishes.
    Loved hearing from you.
    Think of you often. You make this world a lovelier place my friend.
    ❤️ Christy

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Lovely music Victoria and you’re so right, music does soothe the mind. Great to see you again and hope you are well.

    Wishing you a wonderful and Happy New Year. ❤

    Like

  22. Happy new year and may it be the best year so far.

    Like

Share your thoughts

