Victoria NeuroNotes

Into the Gray

I Am Incredibly Grateful For My Blogging Family

130 Comments

That’s what I told Madalyn, yesterday, on her blog, Wary Wonderlust. She responded with the quote in my header.

I couldn’t have said it better.

While there may be jerks out there, I have found my online experiences exceedingly fruitful. There’s a depth of realness that I’ve not often encountered in “real” life.

Recently, I read a survey which included over 50,000 people. Here’s what they found:

Computer online friends

I’ve read comments from people who claim that you can’t have authentic friendships online.

I couldn’t disagree more.

As the survey shows, people are more likely to be honest with you, online, than IRL.

Perhaps they’ve had negative experiences. Who hasn’t? I could tell you some stories.

Computer friendships

As has happened with a lot of people who deconverted, especially those living in religious communities, I lost my social network and my marriage ended. Had it not been for my online friends, I would have become very lonely.

Disconnected.

With 2015 coming to a close, I want to take this opportunity to thank you all for your honesty, your kindness, your care, your knowledge, your talents, your constructive criticism, and your unwavering support.

I have grown a lot. I’m a better person, and happier, too, because of you. ❤

Happy New Year, and Cheers.

~Victoria

Author: NeuroNotes

Victoria predominately blogs about religion, and the brain's role in religious type experiences.

130 thoughts on “I Am Incredibly Grateful For My Blogging Family

  1. Cheers! To the creators in us all!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reblogged this on Life After 40 and commented:
    I love what Victoria has written here and I couldn’t agree more. I’ve made many wonderful online friends and I’m a much richer and better person because of them. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Happy New Year, my friend. I’m glad I know ya. 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  4. I am new here as you know Victoria, though my own experiences entirely echo yours. I began blogging less than two years ago, and can say I have since met genuine friends online, one of whom in particular I cherish very deeply within my heart. We have since come to communicate off-blog, sharing the intimacies of our lives in candour and with a mutual loving trust. I wish you a peaceful and contented New Year, and look forward to our future exchanges here – Hariod.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hariod, my sincere apologies for your comment being held in moderation for so long. Not sure why it went to moderation (nor was I notified), as you’ve commented on my blog before. Half the year is over now, but I, too, wish you peaceful and contented New Year. Better late than never, lol. Loved your comment. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Ditto. I don’t know how I would have made it through the past year sane without this online community I have found. I have learned so much from reading all of your blogs, and your many helpful and encouraging comments and suggestions have given me the courage to communicate more honestly with people in my “real” life. For this I am also truly thankful. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Skirt, I’ll never forget when you introduced me to that praise and worship song of Christians singing to Jesus about a “sloppy wet kiss”. Do you know, I saved that to my favorites? Classic. 😀

      This community rocks — no sloppy wet kiss necessary. lol

      Liked by 2 people

      • Gawd, I HATE that song! Especially that part about the sloppy wet kiss! When I first heard it in church I was like, “WTF? Ewwww…”

        Like

        • Oh plus, why would the writers of this song compare their god’s love to a hurricane? I mean, have they never been through a hurricane and seen what damage it does??? Doesn’t leave a very positive impression, anyway.

          “If His grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking.” Imagining drowning in an ocean is supposed to be a good thing?

          Liked by 2 people

          • Isn’t it interesting to have once been on the inside, and now observing it from the outside? Rather mind-bending.

            Liked by 2 people

            • Yes it is. There were many songs on the “inside” that really really bothered me. There is a lot of whining and emotional flagellation. It wore on me after many years.

              There are still songs that I like. I listened to this song the other day and it really inspired me, but for a different reason than before (I was singing it to myself in self-love):

              Or this song, which before would make ache with the question, “Why is my life so sucky? Because God’s ways are mysterious.” Now for some reason this song reminds me that I’ve come a long way and it was because the good things inside me that I used to attribute to god were actually me.

              Liked by 1 person

              • Quixie, I love what you wrote under the 1st video. I would call that a “magical moment”, and I think most of us deconverts have experienced it. I also resonate with what you wrote regarding the songs being used for self-love. That’s pretty much how I weened myself off Christian music because it was such a huge part of my life for a long time, so the music was playing in my head everyday, even after I deconverted.

                So, I changed the lyrics, as you apparently have. Instead of saying “He” or “Jesus” or “God”, I would sing “me” “I” or “Victoria”. It was the only way I found that helped me deal with the constant replay. That 2nd tune is catchy, and reminds me of a mixture of Katy Perry and Leona Lewis, such as “Bleeding Love” https://youtu.be/Vzo-EL_62fQ -.

                Since the video came well after Lewis’ hit, it’s probable that she got her inspiration (instrumentally) from that tune. and perhaps Katy Perry, with putting emphasis on evenly spaced lyrics, and then seeming as though she’s shouting other times. though. I just know that I was immediately reminded of both artists when I heard it. I can understand why you might feel inspired. It’s also catchy in a brainwave entrainment sort of way.

                Oh, and speaking of inspiration — have you heard Wide Awake by Perry? She was raised in an evangelical environment. As far as I’m aware, her parents are still fundamentalists and think she’s a “tool of Satan”. The video is quote metaphorical. https://youtu.be/k0BWlvnBmIE

                Liked by 1 person

                • V, you seem to know me so well! When I first deconverted I would listen to that Katy Perry song often. Just yesterday I watched that Wide Awake video on YouTube right after I watched the Man Who Sued God! 😀 It’s such a fantastic metaphor. Yep, I heard that Katy Perry was a deconvert. Her parents were (are probably still) very religious. Same with Lady Gaga, I think? I used to love that Bleeding Love song until I thought about how unhealthy that actually is. So much music promotes really unhealthy relationships!

                  So glad you used to listen to Christian music and replaced God with your name. Makes me feel less weird! I’m thinking about writing a post about how Quixie was the part of my brain that I always thought was God that I “worshipped.” I’m interested in learning more about the psychology behind why God can seem so real.

                  Thanks so much for the links!

                  Liked by 1 person

                  • You’re welcome, Quixie. I kinda chuckled in my mind when you mentioned that “Bleeding Love” was unhealthy. When I first heard the song, I thought how ironic the song was from the perspective of a devout Christian who’s given their all, made a lot of sacrifices, have scars from it, and then come to realize that they’ve been in a onc-sided relationship. 😉 Listen to it from a deconvertee perspective. I had already deconverted when this song came out in 2007, but the dust was still settling, so to speak.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    • Oh, I hadn’t thought of Bleeding Love that way before. Fascinating! It’s even creepier from a deconvert perspective. Sheesh!

                      *”My heart melts into the ground, found something true
                      And everyone’s looking round, thinking I’m going crazy
                      But I don’t care what they say
                      I’m in love with you
                      They try to pull me away, but they don’t know the truth
                      My heart’s crippled by the vein, that I keep on closing
                      You cut me open and I
                      Keep bleeding, keep, keep bleeding love
                      Trying hard not to hear, but they talk so loud
                      Their piercing sounds fill my ears, try to fill me with doubt
                      Yet I know that the goal, is to keep me from falling
                      But nothings greater, than the rush that comes with your embrace
                      And in this world of loneliness, I see your face
                      Yet everyone around me, thinks that I’m going crazy, maybe, maybe”*

                      Liked by 1 person

        • “I was like, “WTF? Ewwww…”

          lmao

          Liked by 1 person

  6. I feel the same way. I think that, for the most part, people find it easier to let their guard down and be real when they don’t have to see the physical response the other parties have. You know, folded arms, or eye rolls, or frustrated sighs. For me when I don’t have to care whether I’m being judged or not it’s easier to be authentic. In doing so I’ve found a community that doesn’t judge. They just accept each other for who they are. That’s a lot to be thankful for.

    Happy New Year, Victoria! I’m glad we met.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. I couldn’t agree more!

    I’m incredibly grateful that I met you, V. ❤ You've made my world a better place. 😀

    Liked by 4 people

  8. Happy New Year, Victoria. We do have a great community here. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Happy New Years to you, my friend! (Hope the weather is behaving)

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Hugs to you Victoria…your blog was immensely helpful in my deconversion, pivotal even. I direct any newbies to it on a regular basis. Not to mention your personal support of me was also a balm when I lost my most prominent coping mechanism (religion).

    Lots of people have told me that online friends and support aren’t “real,” but I beg to differ. Like you I’ve been able to be my most real self online, and have found incredible support through my online friendships (far more support than my real life friends and family). It saved me during a time of severe crisis, and I try to pay it back by supporting others online when I can.

    Liked by 6 people

    • Gosh, your comment really touched me, Violet. There were times I was so worried about you, and it reminded me of myself during those earlier years after my deconversion—after the dust started to settle. Initially, I didn’t have anyone to reach out to, both in my real life and online. I hadn’t yet discovered the online community supporting deconverts. It was liberating to know I wasn’t the only one who had stepped into the abyss. I’m so glad that I could be there for you, even if it was to just give you a virtual hug.

      Deconversion, sucks, sucks, sucks, but it has gotten much better due to this awesome community on WordPress, and the lifelong friendships that have blossomed beyond the blogs. Thank you for directing others to my blog. I hope it helps. Even though you shared some very personal and painful thoughts and feelings, we also had a lot of fun on your blog. I hope, when you have the opportunity again, you will start blogging. You are gifted in making connections.

      *hugs back*

      Liked by 3 people

    • My response to Violet, Victoria and all those who helped me through these trying times of 2015:

      Liked by 3 people

  11. You know Ive had a lot of friends come and go through life. Very few I could count on, that is to be true to their word and follow through and do the things they say they will. Friends like that tend to be hard to find.

    I feel like the friends I have made through blogging are those kind of friends. And it is good to call many of you, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Happy New Year, Victoria! Your comments on the various blogs have been very insightful, and helpful to me during this year of leaving Christianity. Thanks so much.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Hi Victoria,

    I’m not sure how much else I can add to the already-awesome comments others have offered, except to say that I have given this notion great thought – the idea that one can ‘meet’ someone online. I remember hearing this comment a few years ago and thinking, “Huh? How can THAT be?” Well, I have found out.

    I’ve always had a great imagination and always found escape (from an upbringing with an alcoholic) in books. I have retained vivid images in my head of scenes from stories I read as a child – the rich, creamy pitcher of goat’s milk that the ‘Alm-Uncle’ would pour for Heidi (from Johanna Spyri), the scenes of the angry townspeople from The Witch of Blackbird Pond, or the girls in Little Women, to name a few — those people ‘came alive’ for me and – I now realize – my imagination served as a coping mechanism for the reality of my young life. I think I have retained my sense of wonder and enthusiasm for things unseen and/or unexperienced.

    Of course, I realize that I also love to meet new people and immediately start picturing them in my mind. I wonder about their lives and the things they’ve experienced. I have come to realize that this overactive imagination of mine has met its match, so to speak, with the interaction of people I’ve come to know in cyber-space. There’s another dimension to the characters I’ve visualized, the stories they tell, and the personalities that are revealed. I have come to know a few, from their comments on blogs and/or my personal correspondence. It’s been an incredible experience and I have found it superbly enriching.

    Victoria, thank YOU so much for opening your heart, head, and keyboard — and thanks to all others who’ve shared their stories and themselves. 🙂 All the best to all in 2016!!!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Carmen, little did I know that when our paths first crossed, how much our friendship would blossom. I remember the day you first contacted me. My life has been greatly enriched by your love, support and wisdom. I speak so highly of you to my family, and often, that they now ask about you on a regular basis as though you are part of the family, which you are in my book. You are one of the most generous, caring and thoughtful people I’ve ever met, and I am honored to be your friend. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Awww. . lotsa warm fuzzies going around on the last day of 2015. There are a few people quite anxious to kick this year’s arse.

        As I’ve said before, it’s thanks to those of you who give of yourselves so selflessly, risking your own vulnerability, that many of us have realized that life’s challenges are best met with an honest, straightforward approach — your personal struggles have given many of us courage to face our own. Even better, you’ve given us tools to help us fix ourselves. 🙂

        Again, Victoria – you (and all your cyber-friends) ROCK!!!

        *I’m raising my not-full-yet champagne glass to you* (which I had to replenish today, because hubby and guests got into my New Year’s booze. . ) Such are the “joli-days”!!

        Liked by 3 people

  14. I can count on my fingers the people I am consistently open with, half of them I’ve only known online. I’m so happy to have met you, friend. 2016 shall deepen our connection and our knowledge.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I feel exactly the same about our blogging community. Happy New Years, Victoria!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Well I for one am a changed person because of deconvert and atheist blogs such as this, jz, ark’s, and mak’s. Started the year with a fairly christian personal blog. Had some eye opening stuff happen and information come to me. Interacted with some other not so graceful, not so honest, not so kind ‘christian’ bloggers in the course of asking questions and trying to get answers. (The gnats know who they are)
    Now… I have a personal blog that I can say is not christian, but I’m not ready to push all the way thru to non-theist. Very different blog, very different outlook. Very different person.
    Thx to all of you. May I have the ability, freedom, and courage in 2016 to ‘pay it forward’ as you have for me. -KIA

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Happy new year to you and all the best. See you soon

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Right back at you Victoria. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Happy New Year, Victoria!
    You’ve been a wonderful and integral part of my recovery from religion. So many times you’ve sent just the right empathy, warmth, and information. You are a tremendous person and I’m honored to be friends with you. You are a champion for truth and justice, Wonder Woman! You inspire me.

    Liked by 3 people

  20. “since 2003 I’ve tried online dating sites — 5 of them to be exact — all for over 1-year, and found MANY false profiles, false descriptions of self, etc.”

    I’ve never been on an online dating/match site, but I couldn’t help but laugh at the part where you wrote “MANY false profiles and descriptions of self”, because that is exactly what you’ll find in the pews of churches. 😉 Probably the main difference is that the false profiles are exposed quicker online.

    What I love about online friendships is that you get to see another depth that you might not see offline. People tend to be less guarded, intimately, and I don’t mean that in a sexual sense. I know that when I talk with people I know in person about the things I am most interested in, their eyes start to glaze over. Haha Dare I say that most people really don’t know me IRL. (see second link in my OP)

    Professor, thank you for your friendship, and your realness. Your honesty means a lot to me, even when it stings a little. 😀 At lease I know where you stand, and that is refreshing. I also want to thank you for your thoughtful and generous comments, but especially for your support on my blog. We do share much in common, and just a wee bit where we don’t. LOL

    Happy New Year, Professor. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • “MANY false profiles and descriptions of self”, because that is exactly what you’ll find in the pews of churches.”

      Ha! That scorched a few butts in the pews.

      Liked by 3 people

    • “…because that is exactly what you’ll find in the pews of churches. 😉 Probably the main difference is that the false profiles are exposed quicker online.”

      I may have told you this over the phone when we’ve chatted, but it deserves mentioning here. While I was desparately trying to save my family — not become a part-time Dad which I hated/hate; not right for someone like me! — at the expense of my OWN (oppressed, hidden Freethinking Humanist beliefs), part of that “charade” was attending my wife’s (now ex-wife) Evangy-Fundy non-denominational church regularly at least 3x’s per week. Our young daughter attended their private Xian academy as well. I was PARTICULARLY active there, of course! Those 2-3 years we were all there at the church & academy, I was hit-on, approached, the most I was EVER hit-on/approached in my previous “wide-open” lifestyles! 😮 That’s not the half of it! Most all the women there were married!!!

      Since divorce was inevitable with her/us, those 2-3 (fake) years at that church TOTALLY nauseated me from any sort of organized Xian-Protestant-Fundy religion for this life and the next ten! That wasn’t an isolated case in my life either! 😈

      Today, my son attends essentially the same type tiny church-school private academy in Conroe, TX, and whenever I’ve picked him up — for holiday, Spring Break, etc, vacations at the church parking lot — 3-4 times if he’s out having lunch with church friends, parent’s coworkers of the church… women and men (especially married ones) CANNOT ride together in the same vehicles off church campus/property unless their spouse is in the same vehicle! I shit you not! My 14-yr old son and I laugh about that every time it happens. :/ LOL

      “We do share much in common, and just a wee bit where we don’t. LOL”

      HAH! Indeed! It is a tiny miniscule difference, isn’t it? 😉 I thoroughly enjoy it here in your cyber-neighborhood and brain! I’m right at home! 😈

      Liked by 2 people

      • “Indeed! It is a tiny miniscule difference, isn’t it?”

        Not in your book. 😛 LOL

        That doesn’t surprise me about the hanky-panky going on in church. What do you expect when believers are commanded to give their best love to their god. I suspect the women who were hitting on you were wanting more than a good fuck. They were looking for an authentic, intimate connection.

        Liked by 1 person

  21. Back atcha’, Victoria! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Pingback: Poetry for the Journey: “Another Less Traveled Road” | The Recovering Know It All

  23. That’s so true indeed Victoria. I also don’t know what I would do without my online friends. Wishing you a wonderful New Year as well. 😀 ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Thank you so much Victoria!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Victoria, I’ve met no one with a heart like yours.

    And not many with a brain like yours.

    You’re fabulous! A most secular angel! (But not a fallen one.)

    Liked by 2 people

    • BB, the things you say/write leave me speechless sometimes. You dedicated a song to me not long ago, so I would like to dedicate this song to you. It expresses how your comment made me feel. If you’re not familiar with Hopelandic, it’s singing without conceptual content of language. The emotion your comment ignited is pronounced as the song crescendos. 🙂

      Tack min vän! *hug*

      Like

  26. I am thankful for you too Victoria! I do think on-line relationships can be as fulfilling, they are just different. There is more honesty, I agree, which can sometimes be negative, but in a way the honesty gives us some likely much needed insight into who we are, and who others are. Ultimately for me, there always feels like an important piece is missing until I meet someone in person, but I don’t find it to be a deterrent, it just means that there is going to be more to discover somewhere down the line. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Thank you, both for your well wishes and your blog. I have taken great joy in both. I agree so much and will re-blog this post as it has much wise thought. I have been lucky like you, so enriched by the many many people who have touched me due to my blog and the internet. I am lucky, I have had only a couple real hateful trolls and only one who wouldn’t listen to reason and treat others with respect. So with the many hundred of people who come to see my blog that I deeply love and care about, I have had only at most three I have had problem with. I have to saw part of my freedom from the hateful ones , despite what I post which is controversial in most times, is because of the care and protection I get from other people on the web. I recently had one person I was will to try to deal with despite his nasty way, he read the words of the others who care for me and did not contact me again. A great post and I love your blog. Thanks, best wishes for all things, and hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    • *smiles*

      Hi Scottie, seems like so many of us agree about the positive online experiences and rich friendships that we have formed. I wanted to take this opportunity to tell you how moved I was by your last comment to Laa on MAL’s blog. You are such an incredible human being. I’m so glad our paths have crossed.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I So thank you. I feel you are far smarter and wiser than I. I would only say that the public part of what Laa and I talk about is only a fraction of our engagement. I am not the hero, she is. she reached out to me and I responded. I simply gave the best I could with my own understanding of the world. Even today we have exchanged emails four or five times. I do not claim to be wise but I have lived a bit and mostly I care, I care deeply and when one is hurting I try my very best to help.

        As for knowing you and your blog again I am the one who is in debt, I have learned a lot, and I have come to understand things I never knew. That is the great joy of the internet for me, meeting people and being either able to learn from them or helping in a small way for them. I love that you have such a high regard for me, but I feel I don’t deserve it. I am just a human animal trying my best to do the best I can for the world i live in and those I encounter. I have love for all who do not hurt me, and I am enriched by all I encounter and hear from. Thanks again. Loves and hugs.

        One side note…a P.S. if you will. I often find the topics on your blog above me, and I have to take time to learn and reread them to understand. I thank you for expanding my world that way. Many hugs for thanks and strength.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Victoria, I don’t know if you’ve had a chance to check out Scottie’s blog yet, but his videos are quite revealing of his personality. When you hear him speak, you’ll think, “What a great fella!” Besides, anyone who signs off, giving HUGS every time has got to be a gem! 🙂
          Scottie, I think you ROCK!

          Liked by 2 people

          • OH my , I don’t know how to respond. To be given such praise is so grand. The fact is I tend to love people, animals and I have tried to take hate out of my life, so yes, I would give hugs to everyone I meet. In all the spirit of love and future. Thanks again. Hugs

            Liked by 1 person

          • I couldn’t agree more, Carmen. I learned something today about hugs. It’s a mutual sign of risk-taking and emotional trust. 🙂

            Like

          • Again I can only say to have others think well of you is a gift of great magnitude. I think maybe it is one of the greatest things we as people can do is care for others and let them know they are loved. I think of all the times someone says something nice about me and how I glow inside with the joy of it. I try to remember in my daily life to return that joy, telling people I meet something nice I noticed about them. I think it makes people happy to know they are appreciated and someone noticed their efforts. Thank you again. Many hugs

            Like

        • Scottie, I’m so glad Laa reached out to you. You have cast your light to help dispel some of the darkness caused by her loss.

          You wrote: ” I love that you have such a high regard for me, but I feel I don’t deserve it.”

          Scottie, sometimes we need others to see our own reflection.

          ” I am just a human animal trying my best to do the best I can for the world i live in and those I encounter.”

          Who can ask for more. 🙂 Thank you for taking the time to read my posts, and for your feedback. I will work towards making them more reader friendly.

          xx

          Liked by 1 person

          • I love your posts and I learn much from them. Please don’t change them for me. I often take days to reread important posts to make sure I get all I can understand out of it. I think to grow each day, to learn new things, to try to better my self is a project I believe in, and I love doing. Thank you for such nice things you said of me, it is a grand feeling to know others see you in good light and think well of you. Many hugs

            Like

  28. Reblogged this on Scotties Toy Box and commented:
    This is the comment I left on the blog as it says all I think need be said . “Thank you, both for your well wishes and your bog. I have taken great joy in both. I agree so much and will re-blog this post as it has much wise thought. I have been lucky like you, so enriched by the many many people who have touched me due to my blog and the internet. I am lucky, I have had only a couple real hateful trolls and only one who wouldn’t listen to reason and treat others with respect. So with the many hundred of people who come to see my blog that I deeply love and care about, I have had only at most three I have had problem with. I have to saw part of my freedom from the hateful ones , despite what I post which is controversial in most times, is because of the care and protection I get from other people on the web. I recently had one person I was will to try to deal with despite his nasty way, he read the words of the others who care for me and did not contact me again. A great post and I love your blog. Thanks, best wishes for all things, and hugs”

    Liked by 1 person

  29. It works foras long as it works. It can be good, very good, and it can fail. Just like RL relationships. Sometimes it would be nice to meet. Sometimes we do and it works. Sometimes it doesn’t. 😀

    I appreciate that for deconverts it’s a source of strength and support, and that is excellent. You, and others provide much-needed help there because you know what people go through. Me, I’m just your average cheerful look-its-true-not-all-atheists-eat-babies (being vegetarian) type.

    Ironically, I’ve had email greetings from blogpals this season and I’ve heard stuff all from my so-called university best pal, neither by post nor email. Perjaps the efriends/blogpals do win out.

    In fact, when I was considering a trip back to the UK some years ago I had a few genuine offers of accommodation from people I’d never met. And while I didn’t go in the end, I’m still very good friends with one of them. Online relationships are so strange.

    Best wishes for 2016 Victoria 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ” I’m just your average cheerful look-its-true-not-all-atheists-eat-babies (being vegetarian) type.”

      Snort of the day, and a loud one at that. 😀 It is refreshing to get a perspective from people (like you) who’ve never been, or allowed themselves to be indoctrinated by religion.

      Kate, it’s been a pleasure getting to know you this past year. May 2016 bring you a fully healed ankle, and lots of walks on the beach.

      xx

      Liked by 1 person

  30. You prove that a person can be both tough and smart, and still be compassionate in their humanity towards others.

    May the New Year bring you happiness, health and prosperity.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. I am certainly glad I “met” you as well Victoria. All the best in the new year and beyond.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. I’ve been trying to work up something to write on my own blog but I haven’t really had the time or inspiration lately.

    Liked by 1 person

  33. I just found your blog in the “junk” file of me.com.
    Would you change my e-mail address to
    charlesclantonrogers@gmail.com
    Charles

    Liked by 1 person

  34. I began blogging with a great deal of trepidation regarding online “friends”. Post 9/11 my husband became involved with a forum populated with highly political thinkers. I’ll try to be brief – suffice to say that over time he formed elevated connections with several bloggers. So much so that one of them extended an invitation for our family to visit him in Seattle. Long story short – shortly before crossing the border, my husband discovered who this person actually was. ( To put my story in perspective it’s important to know my husband is black ) Turns out that Seattle man is a white supremacist, a man jailed in his early 20s for plotting to assassinate MLK, then again for attempted murder (he tried to run over a black child who was riding a bike on his street ) Holy crap doesn’t begin to describe how we felt, or what motive this man had.
    That said, it took several years for me to trust instincts regarding WordPress friends. Today, I can’t imagine life without fond connections and interaction with complete strangers I value equally (if not more) than people I see every day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

